Home > Developmental Milestone > Developmental Milestones

Developmental Milestones

What are developmental milestones?

Developmental milestones are important phases of a child’s life that mark his/her gross motor, fine motor, speech and social skills development.

What is gross motor skill?

Gross motor skills are skills acquired by a person to move their body, such as kneeling, transiting from sitting to standing, swaying a bat to hit a ball, running and jumping. It also involves trunk control and balance skills, preventing the body from falling during task such as walking, single leg standing and climbing stairs.

What is fine motor skill?

Fine motor skills are skills that involve precision to complete a task. Examples of fine motor skill are writing, buttoning of shirt and feeding.


Gross Motor Developmental Milestones

0-6 months

– 6 months – 2 years: coming soon (subscribe to Kids Home Therapy’s blog to be inform of the latest updates!)



  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 18, 2011 at 9:21 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: